Styling Corsets as Day Wear

When one corsets every day, it poses an interesting fashion challenge. In the beginning of my waist training, I often found myself staring at my closet with furrowed brow; stumped. With my rapidly changing shape, I found that a whole lot of my clothes started to fit me like potato sacks with awkwardly low waistlines. With the knowledge that I may get knocked up or for some other reason fluctuate in size some day, I put the items worth keeping in storage and gave the rest away.

It was hard to get rid of those trusted garments. On the other hand, I was hardly disappointed to be getting more shapely! I found that my confidence to wear skin tight clothes sky-rocked and with that, a whole world of fashionable possibilities opened up; I suddenly found that I can wear pretty much anything I want to without nagging insecurity holding me back. This breakthrough was pretty big for me and one of the reasons I am so passionate about helping others discover corsetry as daily wear. However you come to the conclusion, it’s a wonderful feeling to walk in the world and know you are bangin’.

Now I see every day as an fashion challenge: ways to make my daily corset new, fresh, and exciting, appropriate for my context, and fitting with my aesthetic. My  color palate tends towards greyscale, reds, and burgundies with high/low fashion goth-punk aesthetics.

Here are some examples of my outfits. Sorry that it’s a bunch of selfies, but selfies or not, I’d love to see yours!

Looking good at work standing next to Dark Garden's couture peacock feather covered custom corset ($4,000 in case you're interested). Asymmetrical mini top hat by House of Nines Designs and my leather gloves convinces the baristas next door at Blue Bottle that I'm a assassin. Jacket is from Goodwill, nineties brand Nine to Five.
Looking good at work standing next to Dark Garden’s couture peacock feather covered custom corset. Asymmetrical mini top hat by House of Nines Designs.
Belting a corset suggests that is is clothes rather than lingerie and freshens a corset you wear a lot.
Belting a corset suggests that is is clothes rather than lingerie and freshens up the look of a corset you wear a lot. 
Early in my waist training, wearing a corset under my clothes at a holiday party.
Early in my waist training, wearing a corset under my clothes at a holiday party.
I get in trouble when I wear the combination of a corset with a Ramones shirt. Just sayin'.
I tend to get into some fun trouble around town when I wear a corset with a Ramones shirt, for some strange reason…
Throw a corset over a black dress and a tiny black belt over that? Complete look. Obviously I felt very dark and stormy this day, with some gothy copper eyeshadow inspired by Distillers front force Brody Dalle. But you know, the concept is flexible.
A corset over a black dress and a tiny black belt over that.
Accessories up top such as hats and necklaces help draw the eye upward and the corset will draw the eye back downward, trust me darling. What proper accessorizing will ensure  is movement of the eye across your form: prepare to be drunk in.
I like high necklines with curvaceous corsets: the mystery of covered skin can be maddening when just enough shape is revealed.
Stripes and polka dots: I had a fashion awakening in the nineties.
Stripes and polka dots: I had a fashion awakening in the nineties.
Tight things with high waists work well for me!
Tight things with high waists work well for me!

What’s the point here?

People often ask: what can I wear my corset with? I suppose what I’m trying to demonstrate is: fuckin’ anything. 

Jeans, stretch jersey, knit, under or over gowns, pencil skirts, gaucho pants, jumpsuits, slacks, t-shirts, tank tops, bikinis … play with it!

by Edward Saenz
by Edward Saenz

LOVE, Euphrates X

One thought on “Styling Corsets as Day Wear”

Leave a Reply

