Corsets and Fluctuations in Weight

Apparently I’ve let some positive attention on my appearance go not only to my head, but to my ass. Yes, I’ve gained a few. Well, more than a “few,” like five. (Seven. A solid seven.)

Between boozing with my gentleman, eccentric friends feeding me late night Zuni chickens, and the discovery of salted carmel macaroons, in conjunction with my complete disregard for my own excellent advice in a previous post about the importance of corsetry and exercise, I’m not entirely surprised. To be fair, it’s fairly natural for weight to fluctuate a little throughout the course of a month’s cycle, but seven is a bit much to be water weight.

Lucky for me, I don’t feel particularly bad about it. It’s interesting for me to notice that my waist training has still been progressing at a steady crawl even whilst in this moment of abundance (that’s what we say, people: “moments of abundance”  — the three letter “f-word” is never allowed when describing a body). My BMI is totally in the middle of the normal range at under 22 points; and being curvier is never a bad thing!

How much can you gain/lose and still wear the same size corset? The answer to this frequently asked question is dependent on a few factors: how the corset fit you at your baseline weight, where you tend to gain/lose weight, if you are waist training, and even how the corset is constructed.

HYPOTHETICALS: If your corset had at a solid three inch back gap and you lost  6-12% of your body weight (~10-20 lbs for a person whose baseline weight was 160 lbs, and ~7-14 lbs for a person whose baseline weight was 120 lbs), you could likely still wear it. But if you had that solid three inch gap and you gained that weight, that corset would not fit you properly anymore. You probably only have room to go up about 3-4% body weight before the bones in back start to bubble, which is terrible for the garment and your body.

I want all ze corsets... all of zem...
I want all the corsets… all of them.

A 1.25-3″ gap in back is ideal. If you are creeping up on 3.25″, that’s pushing it for the reason stated above. In addition to being bubbly and unsupportive, the curves of the corset and its bones will no longer be hitting you at the appropriate places in your body (read: uncomfortable). On the other hand, you don’t want the corset to be laced completely closed for daily/extended wear because the steel boning in back would rest on your spine, which I can say from experience in my rookie days, is also uncomfortable. The most comfortable corset will always be a corset that fits you right. If you are lacing tighter than a parallel 1″, time for a smaller corset!

But I love this corset! Can I get it altered? Dark Garden can take in their corsets by up to 3″ for a reasonable fee (note that they only alter their own work). I’ve heard that other reputable makers will reduce their corsets by a size as well, so it’s worth asking. Yet another reason not to buy mass-produced product off the internet!

If you can’t get it reduced and you are a waist trainer, you could always use your old, bigger corset as a “sleeper”  corset to progress your training even faster. I would only do this with under busts personally, and only if the corset didn’t have fancy embellishments on it like beading, flossing, lace overlay, or crystals.

That’s the long and short of it. Comment below with anything I might have missed and don’t forget to follow my blog if you found this informational!

TOO LONG; DIDN’T READ I put on a few, but that’s ok. You can too, as long as your corset is still comfy to wear and you are happy.

Leave a Reply

