Corsets vs. the TSA

It’s an oft brought up topic in the forums:

Can I waist train while going through airport security?!?

Such inquiries are often blown off with responses such as:

It won’t kill you to take it off for a few minutes!

But for some people, it really is practically life or death — see my previous post on a woman who’s degenerative ligament deterioration makes it such that her corset is her exoskeleton. And, my! With what vivacious ferocity does she battle the world, enabled by her brace and unquenchable spirit!

Other responses I have seen are along the lines of:

My dear! I nearly forgot, so I tucked into the ladies powder room just before the security line and slipped off my naughty erotic bits and no one was the wiser!

Ok, so, I have an answer as to what happens to you when you go through security wearing a corset.

Firstly, let me say that for once I wasn’t attempting to cause trouble or make a scene. I was fat, sassy, and still a little buzzed from my vacation in New Orleans and simply forgot that I was wearing a cincher under my swampy clothes. I was carrying a parasol, wearing a big, floppy hat I’d seen the local teenage hookers wearing and simply had to have — I had enough wardrobe going on to worry about.

I walk up to the body scanner, put my arms above my head, try my best to be serious and not to strike a butt-flattering pose, and exit the booth. Granted, in the Big Easy, folk are a lot more easy going and accommodating, so when I blurted out:

Can I see my picture?!?!

They said sure, it’s right up there on the screen behind you. My expectations were frustrated.

Where as I might expected something a little more graphic and titillating, such as this:

Image

And hopefully, with the corset, some sort of sexy action like this:

Image

The image that appeared on the screen looked approximately like this:

Image

The yellow square shows where metal might be on my body. The TSA agents laughed jovially at my disappointment, explaining that people complained about the graphic images, now that’s what it’s like. Hmmf. I explained that I wear a back brace, and the woman couldn’t care less. She wiped down my hands for explosive evidence and when I checked out, I was on my way.

There you have it. It may have been that NOLA has a prescription for relaxation, but it was not anything to worry about. Tightlacers and waist trainers every wear can relax: people wear back braces all the time and it’s really no big deal.

I did take it off on board though. I wanted to drink two tiny bottles of wine, watch the in-flight movie, and snooze in my partner’s lap in noodley comfort…

LOVE,

Image
Photo by Edward Saenz, cincher by Dark Garden, modeled by Euphrates X

Euphrates X

Tightlacing Liaison | Expert Fitter

Dark Garden Unique Corsetry

Leave a comment